After a ten day hiatus, forced by a cold, I went back to power walking. The walk felt so good.  I did the usual four miles, stopping about a mile through to chat with a neighbor I had not seen in a while. Even with a 2 minute interruption I had a good walk.

Right now I’m watching a DVD, Cuba Island of Music. It deals with Cuban music, but kind of preachy and didactic, without the energy of Wim Wenders’ Buena Vista Social Club. Of course, Omara Portuondo, Ibrahim Ferrer, or Compay Segundo have yet to appear in this film.  Bad Cuban music is an impossibility. The Afro-Cubano rhythms are powerful, seductive, erotic, and inviting. One simply needs to dance! They just finished a segment on Santaria, the syncretistic native religion with African indigenous and Catholic elements,

Life without the Brace of Doom, is a delight. I still have some back pain that rears its ugly head when I try to sleep. So I sleep on an odd schedule.  There are times when I lie in bed, wondering if sleep will come. Then I get up and read. Pretty soon it is 2 or 3 AM.

There is another aching pain I have, the longing for sexual intimacy, sexual passion. It cannot be ignored. It is not a “thing to do”, like brushing your teeth or ironing a shirt. It is the consummation of the love I feel for my wife, my partner, and my lover.  Another chance comes to break the logjam.

