Tags

,

The Cubano is another name for the Cuban sandwich. Yesterday, in a bit of defiance against Weight Watcher point-counting, I ordered one at Cheesecake Factory.  I put one half of the beast aside, ate one half. Then, after 30 seconds of not too careful thought, I ate the second half. I now had this agglomeration of ham, roast pork, cheese, pickle and Cuban bread churning around in my gut for what seemed to be an eternity.  I confided to Mrs CorC? that this would be my Cuban sandwich for the Third Quarter. It could be my last one for a long time. Meat, it has been said, doesn’t really have much flavor. We constantly put stuff on it to give it flavor.  This Cubano brought that message home in a big way. I could taste the pickle and the mustard more than anything else. This morning when I scrambled my egg whites with fresh tomatoes, artichoke hearts, fresh basil and Gorgonzola, I had an explosion of taste which I did not experience yesterday.

Maybe it is Cheesecake Factory that ended my affair with the Cubano. Their food is calorie-laden and over-priced.  But it is in the mall near our house. It isn’t a bad mall as malls go.  It isn’t one of those enclosed nightmares.  It has plenty of plants and foliage plus a rather nifty water garden with koi swimming about.  The irony of this mall is that it is a place we drive to in order to walk around.  Weird, huh?

I miss the city, though. I miss walking places.  You could walk to places in the ‘burbs but it would 1) take forever and 2) be inordinately risky with limited sidewalks and street lighting.  Why not move?  The house is paid for, for starters , and I like our townhouse development.  I have dreams of fixing the place up to be the pleasant home I’ve dreamed of.  But every time I drive down to the urban neighborhood  where my lovely parish church is situated, I see tree-lined avenues with sidewalks and streetlights.  There are shopping districts within walking distance.  That urban neighborhood is diverse, but my townhouse development is no monoculture either.  Should we stay or go? We’ll chew on that some more.

